May
28
I read an article on Techgeist that had a blurb about Asus backing Microsoft with the Eee PC. From their site:
"Linux just got a major slap in the face today from Asus. One of the highlights of Linux going mainstream was the wildly popular Asus Eee PC preinstalled with a customized Linux distro geared towards web applications. While I personally never got what the big deal was, I was still happy for all the Linux people out there waiting for this day, but it looks like the cause for celebration won't be lasting much longer..." The complete original article can be read at: Asus Slaps Linux In The Face.
The gist of Techgeist's post is that Asus and Microsoft have jointly created a site called itsbetterwithwindows.com They key issue that particularly annoys is that comments such as "compatibility issues" (and others) are raised - Yet Asus failed to stand up and remind that the Asus Eee PC was installed with a Linux system specifically customized for the unit. Or so one would assume from the post.
Needless to say, this all seemed rather suspect...
Would Asus really invest in developing a Linux based Eee PC and then espouse Windows? Additionally, when looking at the "It's Better With Windows" site, it's so unprofessional that I'd hardly think it was directly commissioned by either Asus or Microsoft. Regardless of what any of us may think of either corporation's practices, they do present more professional advertising and marketing imagery and material than in the web site. In my opinion I began to suspect this as a misleading post? I decided to see who owned the site, what a surprise Some person in Washington Sate, USA named Michael Sharp using a Hotmail account -> WHOIS for itsbetterwithwindows.com. (As you can see in the link, this is publicly posted information for all to read). Also, Microsoft has their own provider, I hardly think they'd register via GoDaddy.
Needless to say, my suspisions grew (is someone trying to stir up trouble - Smiling...) Looking further I found a post on Slashdot that also mentioned the Techgeist post. One commentor on that site stated:
"...It's linked from Asus's own website [asus.co.uk]..." (It's true, I checked the link).
However another mentioned the same WHOIS information I found, but that reader had a bit more meat to add:
"I still don't see any conclusive evidence thi was Asus' work. I think your anger should be directed at Microsoft. I can't prove it for sure but the whois of this domain itsbetterwithwindows.com [domaintools.com] reads:
Registrant:
Michael Sharp
12932 SE Kent-Kangley Rd.
Box 238
Kent, Washington 98030
United StatesDomain Name: ITSBETTERWITHWINDOWS.COM
Created on: 05-Dec-08
Expires on: 05-Dec-09
Last Updated on: 05-Dec-08
And so we put it in the same state as Washington. Now, I'm guessing this is a PR company and we have a perfect match of Arbirtron Ad agency listing Michael Sharp as Manager, Agency & Advertiser Services for several different regions of the US [arbitron.com].
Ok, from there if you google Arbitron Asus [google.com] and Arbitron Microsoft [google.com] you come up with two very juicy powerpoints from Microsoft on Arbitron's site.
I would put my guess at 95% that this is a Microsoft run and funded site with little to do with Asus other than get their permission... "
Regardless of the thoughts form the anti-Linux and pro-Linux camps, it appears from the Asus (.co.uk) site that there is a Windows based Eee PC, nowhere does it say that Asus is replacing the Linux version with Windows (or at least I didn't see it).
Asus Slaps Linux in the face? - No, hardly! Seems to me that Asus is simply expanding their market. Perhaps a third party PR might have done a bad job, leaving room for speculation, that's all!
Upon reading the Techgeist post, it occurred to me - Just because someone says so, that does not make it so. It ain't necessarily so...
Related posts:
- Why Ubuntu Linux Prevails?
- Why is Linux Faster than Windows?
- Linux in 30 Days
- Some Things Linux Can Do, That Windows Won’t.
- Ubuntu, Why Should You Switch?

(2 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)
In response to “Asus Slaps Linux in the Face? – Not!”. I can not believe that second rate site could have been mistaken for the product of Microsoft or Asus. As for the eee pc, It’s a toy the small screen, keyboard, and lack of disk space makes it a good machine for a five year old child! I think the OLPS was more expensive.
@J robinson – Right! Personally, I’m one of those resistant to devices like this. I want control (storage) of my own data. If I lose an Internet connection I lose access to my data. Maybe that’s just me…
[...] the counter argument from Glyn Moody, the suggestion that it might be a hoax, and the reality of this situation. Regardless of the thoughts form the anti-Linux and pro-Linux camps, it appears from the Asus [...]
Hey Author,
It is an insult to the Linux community when Asus says there Eee PC line is “better with windows” considering it started out with Linux. I am not by ANY stretch of the imagination a Linux fanatic either, I rather detest it. I will pay for Microsoft over getting a free Ubuntu distro any day.
Also, Michael works for MS. Asus.co.uk is registered by ASUSTEK making it a direct representation of what Asus thinks.
So, yes. It is a slap in Linux’s face
@Holden Page – I’d have to disagree with your points:
1) Just because a company starts a product with one operating system, does not mean they cannot add other systems. To suggest that they cannot do this makes one no better than other “monopolistic” operators. Asus is free to do with their own products as they see fit, to dictate how they can develop, change or market their products is wrong. Many products eventually support multiple operating systems. For anyone to assume they cannot also do the same is ridiculous and wrong.
2) “Michael” works for Arbitron Inc., a PR agency in Washington State. Not Asus in England. (Incidentally, there also happens to be a Michael Sharp at Microsoft as well: http://www.spoke.com/info/p1ma.....haelSharp). However did “Michael” really register the domain? One can register a domain using any credentials they want – Especially when using a Hotmail account!
3) Finally, asus.co.uk does NOT seem to be the official Asus England (UK) site! The official Asus UK site is: uk.asus.com – The official site lists the proper contact details and uses their own DNS servers! The spoofed (fake site) is asus.co.uk. Again asus.co.uk is fake!
Again, no this is NOT a slap in Linux’s face. Instead the information in that post appears not to have been fully researched and appears to be false. Before posting such content, bloggers need to ensure they do their research first, and when evidence to the contrary is discovered, they (in my opinion) should include that in their posts, to argue the point based on false information, is not beneficial. This issue was fake, it was a hoax, and some people got tricked by it.
Just because someone says something is so… It ain’t necessarily so.